Back To The Start

Four years ago, at 19 years of age, I went on my first mission trip. It also happened to be the very first mission trip that GO Ministries had ever organized and taken it’s own interns on. I was in awe. How had I been selected to go on this trip? My heart was humbled and my hands were shaking as we gathered in the dining hall of our ranch in Mora, Minnesota for our “send-off” meeting. It was one of those moments when you know that what is being said is so important but your mind is racing so quickly in excitement that it barely catches three sentences out of twenty. Good thing I took notes!

The nation we were going to was 88% Muslim at the time. 88%. It is illegal to evangelize in Indonesia, you do not want to get caught by the wrong people! It is such a different culture there, these are people who need freedom. They do not have freedom of religion like we have in America. They are not a nation under God. (Not yet!) They serve lifeless statues that do nothing for them. All that those foreign “gods” ever do is take life. My God is the only true God. And the only God who gives. What does He give? Life. Health. Money. Peace. Joy. Freedom. And everything else included in “life more abundantly.” (John 10:10) This realization woke me up. It WOKE ME UP. How could I have lived such a small life before that moment? I suddenly realized that these people need to know Him. They need to know my Jesus.

“But how are people to call upon Him Whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in Him of Whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without a preacher? And how can men preach unless they are sent? As it is written, How beautiful are the feet of those who bring glad tidings!” 

Romans 10:14-15

I may have heard that verse a hundred times before, but in that meeting I heard it for the first time. “How can they believe in Jesus if they have never heard of Jesus?” They need to hear and I have to tell them.

My journey had begun.

IMG_2313

Leave a Reply

